Lincoln Highway Association elects new national officers and directors

Contact: David Hay, LHA Executive Director, at (574) 233-0393 or

2007 LHA Officers
The newly elected LHA officers. From left to right: Bob Lichty (Executive Advisor), Sue Jacobsen (Secretary), Russ Rein (Vice-President), Jan Shupert-Arick (President), and Jess Petersen (Treasurer). [Click to enlarge]

At its 15th annual conference just held in Colorado, the Lincoln Highway Association (LHA) elected new national officers and new state directors for Indiana and California.

Dedicated in 1913, the Lincoln Highway was America’s first coast-to-coast improved highway. Still linking New York and San Francisco by 3,400 miles of road, the Lincoln Highway follows U.S. Routes 1, 30, 40, and 50, and other scenic two-lane roads. The LHA was formed in 1992, and has chapters in all 12 states along the Lincoln Highway.

The mission of the Lincoln Highway Association is to preserve and improve access to the Lincoln Highway, facilitate research and publications about the Highway, and work with local communities and merchants to promote the Highway as a tourism destination.

Elected LHA President was Jan Shupert-Arick of Ft. Wayne, Indiana, while Russell Rein of Ypsilanti, Michigan was elected Vice-President. Two serving officers were re-elected: Secretary Sue Jacobsen of Aurora, Illinois and Treasurer Jesse Petersen of Tooele, Utah. Immediate Past President Robert Lichty of Canton, Ohio was named Executive Advisor.

Ms. Shupert-Arick formerly was the LHA’s Vice-President and the Indiana director. She co-organized the 2003 national conference and a 2006 symposium on highway tourism promotion. She has extensive experience in historical museums and arts administration. Mr. Rein is a notable collector and student of the Lincoln Highway’s history, and is the editor of the LHA’s electronic newsletter and webmaster of the Indiana chapter website.

Succeeding Ms. Shupert-Arick as the Indiana director is Ken Locke of Warsaw, Indiana. Mr. Locke conducts Lincoln Highway preservation projects with local Boy Scout troops, and grew up along the Lincoln Highway. California director Robert Dieterich resides in Fair Oaks, California. He is co-author of a book on the Lincoln Highway in California, and currently serves as the chairman of the Association’s Endowment Fund Committee.

In addition to the newly-elected officers and directors, these directors continue to serve on the board:

  • Mindy Higgins, Pennsylvania director, Hanover, PA
  • Marie Malernee, Ohio director, Canton, OH
  • Kay Shelton, Illinois director, DeKalb, IL
  • Jeff LaFollette, Iowa director, Davenport, IA
  • Lenore Stubblefield, Nebraska director, Shelton, NE
  • Randy Moore, Wyoming director, Cheyenne, WY
  • Alan Stockland, Utah director, Ogden, UT
  • Geno Oliver, Nevada director, Reno, NV
  • Olga Herbert, at-large director, Ligonier, PA
  • James Peters, at-large director, Sudbury, MA
  • Russell Rein, at-large director, Ypsilanti, MI

Elections will be held for some directors at the 2008 LHA conference in Evanston, WY.

The National Office of the Lincoln Highway Association is located at 402 W. Washington St., South Bend, IN 46601. For more information about the LHA, please contact David L. Hay, LHA Executive Director, at (574) 233-0393 or at . See for more news and resources about the Lincoln Highway.

Officials to dedicate Lincoln Highway Association National Office in South Bend, IN on April 21

Contact: David Hay, LHA Executive Director, at (574) 233-0393 or

[Artist's image of the Remedy Building]SOUTH BEND, INDIANA — The Lincoln Highway Association (LHA) has established a new National Office in South Bend, Indiana, and an open house and dedication event will take place from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 21, 2007 at 402 W. Washington St, at the historic Remedy Building. On the route of the original Lincoln Highway, it is now owned and operated by Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana as its Northern Regional Office.

At 1:30 p.m., South Bend Mayor Stephen J. Luecke and Lincoln Highway Association President Robert C. Lichty will unveil a replica of a 1928 concrete Lincoln Highway route marker that will identify the Lincoln Highway Association’s new presence in South Bend. The LHA will hold its 2009 Conference in South Bend during the Lincoln Bicentennial.

The public is invited to the Open House and dedication. Light refreshments will be served, and Lincoln Highway historic objects will be on display courtesy of Association members.

Organized in 1992, the Lincoln Highway Association has chapters in all states where the Lincoln Highway exists. The Lincoln Highway was launched in 1913 and was America’s first coast-to-coast paved highway, linking New York City and San Francisco. The highway is over 3,000 miles in length and Routes 1, 30, 40, and 50 still trace its path.

[Photo of David Hay]To staff its new office, the Association recently hired David L. Hay of LaPorte, Indiana, as its first Executive Director. Hay earned graduate degrees in business and history, and has worked in fund development and management in both the for-profit and non-profit worlds. Hay will conduct fundraising activities, strategic planning, and projects of national focus.

“I am excited to be working for this great organization,” Hay notes. “It’s rare to find the opportunity to combine one’s skills and passions, and it’s my good fortune be able to do that here.” He adds, “Highways embody our love of cars and the freedom to go where we want, and the Lincoln Highway continues to be a place where you can do just that.”

The LHA National Office complements its existing tourist information site in Franklin Grove, Illinois, which will continue to assist travelers. Located in the historic H.I. Lincoln Building, the facility is managed by Lynn Asp, who may be reached at (815) 456-3030.

The Lincoln Highway Association National Office is located at 402 West Washington Street, South Bend, IN 46601. To contact the office, please call (574) 233-0393 or send an e-mail to . Also visit LHA’s website at