Postal cancellation for the 2009 LHA conference available until July 18

[image of LHA stamp cancellation]Postal cancellations from the 2009 LHA conference are now available for a limited time. [View larger image]

Pictorial postmarks are available only for the dates indicated, and requests must be postmarked no later than 30 days following the requested pictorial postmark date, no later than July 18, 2009.

All requests must include a stamped envelope or postcard bearing at least the minimum First-Class Mail postage. Items submitted for postmark may not include postage issued after the date of the requested postmark. Such items will be returned unserviced.

To obtain a postmark, affix stamps to any envelope or postcard of your choice, address the envelope or postcard to yourself or someone else, insert a card of postcard thickness in envelopes for sturdiness, and tuck in the flap. Place the envelope or postcard in a larger envelope and address it to:

South Bend Station
424 South Michigan Street
South Bend, IN 46601

You can also send stamped envelopes and postcards without addresses for postmark, as long as you supply a larger envelope with adequate postage and your return address. After applying the pictorial postmark, the Postal Service will return the items (with or without addresses) under addressed protective cover.

Happy collecting!

2008 Lincoln Highway Association Awards

At this year’s Association conference, the recipients of the 2008 Lincoln Highway Association awards were announced.

2008 LHA Director — retiring directors

  • Russell Rein
  • Sid Ketchum
  • Marie Malernee
  • Randy Wagner

2008 LHA Conference Chair — Shelly Horne

2008 Conference Planning Committee

  • Barbara Bogart
  • Dan Bogart
  • Ann Cazin       
  • Gary Cazin
  • Jo Newkirk-Hornecker
  • Joe Cox
  • Jim Davis
  • Jane Law
  • Mieke Madrid
  • Saundra Meyer
  • Suzanne Seppala

2008 LHA Technology Award

  • James Lin for the LHA web site

2008 LHA Member of the Year

2008 LHA Art Award

  • Kell Brigan for organizing the Art Show

2008 LHA Host of the Year

  • Russell Rein for organizing LHA research trip to the University of Michigan

2008 LHA Meritorious Achievement Award

  • Bob Owens, Iowa

2008 LHA Preservation Advocate

  • Michael Buettner for Cindell Street

2008 Preservation Organization of the Year

2008 LHA Director of the Year

  • Jeff La Follette, Iowa

LHA awards the Ohio Department of Transportation

April 30, 2008 Press Release from the Ohio Lincoln Highway League:

The 14th Annual Business Meeting of the Ohio Lincoln Highway League was held on April 26, 2008 at the Elks Hall in Galion, Ohio. The Ohio Lincoln Highway League is the state affiliate of the Lincoln Highway Association, a historical interest group which endeavors to promote and preserve the history of the Lincoln Highway—the first transcontinental automobile route in the United States.

Among the highlights of the meeting was the presentation of the “Exemplary Friend of the Lincoln Highway Award” to the Ohio Department of Transportation. This is an award given by the Lincoln Highway Association to individuals or groups for outstanding contributions to the association’s promotion and preservation efforts. In this case, ODOT was honored for their part in constructing the splendid new Lincoln Highway Bridge at the I-75 interchange with State Route 696 at Beaverdam. The bridge features four large Lincoln Highway logo signs which face four-lane traffic on I-75, and four smaller logo signs set in brick pillar replicas which face traffic on State Route 696—a renumbered roadway (formerly U.S. 30-North) that was once part of the historic Lincoln Highway route. The brick pillars are reminiscent of twenty other pillars which were originally set along the route of the Lincoln Highway during the 1920s.

odot award
Photo by John Renock

On hand to accept the etched glass award on behalf of ODOT was Kirk Slusher, P.E. (right), who is the Planning Administration for ODOT District One at Lima. The presentation of the award was officially made by LHA President Jan Shupert-Arick of Fort Wayne, Indiana. At the request of the Ohio Lincoln Highway League, Kirk took a few minutes to discuss the history of the project and explain how transportation enhancement funds became available for this aesthetic bridge. It was then pointed out by members of the Ohio Lincoln Highway League that in their opinion, this award was merited not only for ODOT’s vision regarding this wonderful new bridge, but also for its continuing assistance in such matters as the posting of green interchange signs and brown historic byway signs which help travelers rediscover the route of the Lincoln Highway as it traverses 241 miles across Ohio.